The Copenhagen Trilogy, by Tove DItlevsen

The Copenhagen Trilogy, by Tove DItlevsen

Available for Pre-order


SBN: 0374602395    EAN: 9780374602390

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux     (View Publisher's Titles)

US SRP: $30.00 US  

Binding: Hardcover

Pub Date: January 26, 2021


Called a masterpiece by The Guardian, this courageous and honest trilogy from Tove Ditlevsen, a pioneer in the field of genre-bending confessional writing, explores themes of family, sex, motherhood, abortion, addiction, and being an artist. This single-volume hardcover contains all three volumes of her memoirs


Tove Ditlevsen is today celebrated as one of the most important and unique voices in twentieth-century Danish literature, and The Copenhagen Trilogy (1969-71) is her acknowledged masterpiece. Childhood tells the story of a misfit child's single-minded determination to become a poet; Youth describes her early experiences of sex, work, and independence. Dependency picks up the story as the narrator embarks on the first of her four marriages and goes on to describe her horrible descent into drug addiction, enabled by her sinister, gaslighting doctor-husband.